Grinnell News

Twenty-five divers selected to the AT&T Olympic Performance Squad for 2014

USA Diving has announced the 25 divers selected to the AT&T Olympic Performance Squad for 2014.

The AT&T Olympic Performance Squad includes the divers who most exhibit the skill and determination it takes to become 2016 Olympic Team members. Those selected to the squad for 2014 include divers who competed at the 2013 FINA World Championships, have been named to the 2014 FINA World Cup team or who have been identified by High Performance Director Steve Foley as divers who could play a key role in shaping the 2016 team.

The squad has been proven to be a pipeline to the Olympics as all 11 members of the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team for diving were members of the Olympic Performance Squad in the years leading up to London.

AT&T, the exclusive telecommunications partner for USA Diving, expands its support of USA Diving to be the official sponsor of the 2014 AT&T Olympic Performance Squad. AT&T has been a proud partner of USA Diving since 2007, and will continue its relationship through the 2016 Olympic Games.

“Partners like AT&T make competition, travel and top performances possible,” said USA Diving President and CEO Linda Paul. “Having a long-term relationship with AT&T helps strengthen our program while competing at all levels and as we prepare for Rio in the coming years.”

A review of the AT&T Olympic Performance Squad is conducted at the end of each year. Pending U.S. qualification, a maximum of 16 divers will compete for Team USA at the 2016 Olympic Games.

2014 AT&T Olympic Performance Squad

Men (Hometown/Trains)

David Bonuchi – Columbia, Mo./Columbia, Mo.
David Boudia – Noblesville, Ind./West Lafayette, Ind.
David Dinsmore – New Albany, Ohio/Columbus, Ohio
Sam Dorman – Tempe, Ariz./Coral Gables, Fla.
Dwight Dumais – Ventura, Calif./Austin, Texas
Troy Dumais – Ventura, Calif./Austin, Texas
Aaron Fleshner – Spring, Texas/Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Michael Hixon – Amherst, Mass./Austin, Texas
Kristian Ipsen – Clayton, Calif./Stanford, Calif.
Steele Johnson – Carmel, Ind./West Lafayette, Ind.
Nick McCrory – Chapel Hill, N.C./Durham, N.C.
Darian Schmidt – Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington, Ind.
Toby Stanley – Conway, Ark./Indianapolis, Ind.

Women (Hometown/Trains)

Samantha “Murphy” Bromberg – Bexley, Ohio/Austin, Texas
Amanda Burke – Southampton, Pa./ State College, Pa.
Kassidy Cook – The Woodlands, Calif./Stanford, Calif.
Cheyenne Cousineau – Temperance, Mich./Coral Gables, Fla.
Deidre Freeman – Grinnell, Iowa/Iowa City, Iowa
Anna James – Midland, Texas/Midland, Texas
Abby Johnston – Upper Arlington, Ohio/Columbus, Ohio
Victoria Lamp – Knoxville, Tenn./Knoxville, Tenn.
Jessica Parratto – Dover, N.H./Bloomington, Ind.
Samantha Pickens – Murrysville, Pa./Tucson, Ariz.
Laura Ryan – Elk River, Minn./Athens, Ga.
Maren Taylor – Arlington, Va./Austin, Texas

Related Articles

Back to top button